Welcome to Athletics Africa .com
News FrontpageFeaturesBrief news from regional and national federationsNorth Africa RegionSouth Africa RegionWest Africa RegionEast Africa RegionExclusive videos of African great moments in track and fieldAfrican Magic Moments in picturesMiss a story? check old ones hereWant to know more about this website?If you want to contact us


Defar sets new African mark

Meseret Defar of Ethiopia Yomi Omogbeja (27/08/2005)

Ethiopia's Olympic champion Meseret Defar has broken the African 5000m record, held by compatriot Berhane Adere, at the 29th Van Damme Memorial - IAAF/TDK Golden League meeting in Brussels.

Defar pulled away from Adere with 200m to go to win comfortably in 14:28.98, relegating Adere's 14:29:32 mark to the history books.

She aslo overtook the 2005 world lead time (14:32.42) set by fellow countrywoman Tirunesh Dibaba in New York last June and the meeting record (14:42.64) held by Kenyan Edith Masai since September 2004.

Defar's time is the third fastest time in history with Turkey's Elvan Abeylegesse world record of 14:24.68 set in Bergen June 2004 still the elusive target.

"I'm extremely happy with this African record. During the race I never thought about the time, I was only fighting," she said.

"But there were so many girls pushing, that we had to run a very fast race. It was definitely my best win of the season."

Adere was placed second in a season's best time of 14:31.09, compatriot Ejegayehu Dibaba was third in a season's best 14:37.34, whilst Kenyan Isabella Ochichi was fourth with a personal best 14:38.21.

Click here for the Full Result of the race

Are you a feature writer? contact us

Back to Athletics Home

Related links

International Amateur Athletics Federation

Ethiopian Athletics

29th Memorial Van Damme meeting – IAAF/TDK Golden League, Bruxelles

  Click to print this story Print this story
Click to go back to the last pageBack to the last page  

Back to top | Contact us | Disclaimer | Advertising| Sitemap

Last updated: 12-Jun-2006 12:23 PM

© 2004 - 2006 Copyright of Yomog Sports Media Company